Different inking tools. 2.

Yes, 2.

Hi, guys. A couple of year ago I did a piece about my fav inking tools. I think it’s time to review it to see if I stick to them or if I have diversified  my inking tools.

First thing is that I see that in comparison from that first post I am much wiser in finding the right tools and inks. So now I can choose better and stick to what’s really useful.

Another thing is that I used to work with different tools with different pencilers. Today something has slightly changed. If someone needs more surgical inking, I prefer to use digital inking via Clip Studio Paint, but I don’t change my tools that much with the pencilers. I prefer to stick myself to what’s best for me.

 

Note: All my material can be purchased in http://www.paperinkarts.com

Brushes:

Here slight things have changed. The best in the field are still the same. What changed was my view and expertise on them.

Image

– Tool: Raphael Kolinsky 8404 Brush. #0 and #3.  I have switched to a thicker brush, but still learning from it. I have learned throughout the years that this brush has like 2 lives. I mean: the new brush works steadily and offers an incredible rich stroke, very organic. I see something of what I see in Jonathan Glapion’s magnificent inks when I use it freely. then it slowly loses the firmly stroke and as it gets old is great for raw strokes. I only use this tool when I know that the pages / penciler is worth. Kolinsky hair offers superior strength and it is resilient as hell.

– Link for purchase

Image

– Tool: Windsor and Newton Series 7 Brush #00 to #04

– Description: aaah, the Windsor and Newton. I had a very love-hate relationship with  this brush when I got my first two brushes. It took me a while to get to it and the difficulty of making a good stroke out of it made me wonder if I got a bad production item or something else. I couldn’t believe that THE brush for inkers was such a bad brush. Then I got news that the production of 2013 was a bad one and that was it. I have a set of brushes now that jumps from #0 to #4. And it’s another thing. It’s precise as sharp and the hand grabs it very naturally. The stroke flows but also it’s a brush that tells you when you have a stiff hand, so practice with it before you jump into a page.

– Link for purchase

– Link for purchase (Chile)

calligrafia-zig-menso-brush-kolinsky-small-39449-674-2

– Tool: Menso Brush Kolinsky Small by Kuretake Zig Cartoonist collection:

– Description: I bought this one months ago and sorry, I haven’t used it yet.But comments says that it’s a strong brush that outperforms Windsor and Newton Series 7 #0. It’s good for fine detail inking. So, I have decided to use it on my next assignment.

– Link for purchase

31f70K01TpL

– Tool: Japanese Calligraphy Fude Brush CHIKKA shodo White. by Kuretake

– Description: This is a calligraphy brush in a big format. I am a total ignorant about chinese calligraphy altho I’d like to take some workshop sometime, so I know I am using this brush wrong. I have seen a couple of tutorials on youth about how to use them and after reviewing them I started to use this brush as freely as I could. I try not to use it as a lazy tool (like filling huge spots of black or something), so I use them as a stroke of expression for new pieces mostly and start to build from there.

– Link for purchase

Nibs:

Image

– Tool: HUNT 102 CrowQuill nib

– Description: Still is THE best quill on the market. It’s my preferred tool of choice when I ink, but as the Windsor and Newton, the quill smells your fear. the best advice is to use it previously jumping into the page and practice strokes. Also, don’t be afraid to use it with a ruler to delineate your straight lines. You’ll see ho professional the page looks with it. Still it’s harder to handle if you are not familiar with quills.

– Link for Purchase

Brushpens:

20746-1000-3ww-l

– Tool: Kuretake Fountain Brush pen #13

– Description: I bought this fountain brush pen because of the praise some inkers gave to it and actually using this pen is magic. It is elegant, with fine details, metallic body and cap and the brush is one of the most fine point I have ever tried. It also flows very organically and the ink dries and does not expands. It’s expensive, but it worths the money you spend. Thing is that the only flaw I saw is that it got stuck after the first replacement and I couldn’t use it properly ever since. I have tried to wash it, fix it and nothing. The new recharges does not flow and it’s utterly frustrating to have this expensive brush pen for just one use.

-Link for purchase

Image

– Tool: Pentel Pocket Brush Pen

– Description: Cartridge charged with a slightly stiff brush cap. It is way cheaper and not as elegant as the Kuretake Fountain pen, but is as useful for the daily sketching. I like that you can make some sort of dry brush effect. It’s cheaper, really and the cartridges are easy to find.

-Link for purchase

 

51VNSPzfnmL._SL1500_

-Tool: Pigma Professional Brush Pen Bold

– Description: Still we are on the brush pen section, but the next two are disposable pens. So, they are cheaper so as the point which is not made from hair, it’s a felt point. It comes with three models and I got the Fine and the Thick versions so I can toy around with them. Well. I am not that pleased wit h this brush pen. It’s versatile on the modular strokes going from thin to thick, but I can’t use it on any piece that has something else – like dry ink – on the canvas, because the ink stops flowing, so I am wondering where to use it. I bought it to see how it works on straight modular lines, so we’ll see.

-Link for purchase

Sakura Pigma brush pen

-Tool: Sakura Pigma Brush

-Description: Just like the Micron model, the Sakura Pigma Brush is the perfect mix between Brushpens and disposable pen. Ink flows great and it’s modular enough for fine detail and finishes. Good product to my eye.

-Link For Purchase

Fine Line & Bullet Tip Pens & Markers:

Sakura-Pigma-Micron-6-Nib-Sizes-and-Lines-1-2

-Tool: Sakura Pigma Micron Fine Tip, 005, 01, 03, 05.

-Description: Last but not least. When I started inking I stopped using Fine liners because I felt that those were not tools inkers used. I was wrong. I know many artists that ink themselves with this very same product and after trying out several similar products I must go with the flow in this category. It’s hard as a raging bull, works on almost any material and ink lasts enough to see that this is one great inking product. I stopped using another brand.

-Link For Purchase

 

So, That was my REVIEWED two cents about inking tools. Hope that it helps.

Next post: Inks.

Bests

CDC

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

