The Red Solstice – Inking step by step

This is part of Page 04 of the free webcomic you can find here:

Original Pencils by Rocco Rabar-Krce:

Captura de pantalla 2015-09-20 23.33.03

First: when I saw the panel, I saw this on my mind (Pencils by great Marc Silvestri):

 Marc is sick, probably one of top 5 pencilers in american mainstream comics, that’s for sure. However I wanted to keep the feeling BUT not having the reference on screen but in my mind. So this step by step was to show myself if I was close to the original idea or not.

Step 1:  
Captura de pantalla 2015-06-25 17.28.56

I inked with the Frenden’s Inker – Manga Studio 4 Organic Brush 2 the characters focusing on spots and blacks instead of shapes and outlines.

Look at the faces and see that I didn’t outlined almost anything.

Step 2: 

Captura de pantalla 2015-06-25 17.29.17

Then I created the machinery surrounding it, in a different layer, of course. The main focus was to bring the chrome and metallic vibe to it against the tubular transparent glass with slightly inner watery turmoil. I kept the same brushes except the white lines on the gas, which was made with also Frenden’s Dry Brush Inker Darker 2. The whole machinery above was outlined almost with no volume since the main focus was the characters.

Step 3:

Captura de pantalla 2015-06-25 18.19.43

Adding some blacks. You see that what’s popping up and then what to enhance with effects.

Step 5:

 

Captura de pantalla 2015-06-25 19.03.41

Finally: The script suggested dusty, abandoned and and spooky environment. For that, I used several Manga Studio Brushes: For instance I mixed black and white Blurred spray 2 Airbrush. Inside the glass tanks to increase the feeling of the turmoiled environment I added a pick of black  Droplet Airbush. I enhanced the sensation of volume with dry brush around one section of every connecting tube above the glass tank.

On the top of the panel I created a line Cross-hatching (for tone scraping) 2 decoration effect so the panel could be faded to black.

And here’s the final lettered version (also done by yours truly): 😉

Captura de pantalla 2015-09-21 15.33.48

so, well… I hope that you liked this. Remember the book is for free theredsolstice.com/…/TheRedSolsticeIssue01.pdf:

Bests

CDC

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

