NEW JOB: Alex:Enemy Of Hell

Enemy of Hell Inks Page 01

So, here’s another one.

This time is something I am really proud of.

Let me make you a small summary. I could relive this project from the ashes and because I really hope this could make it big.

Last year in a three month hiatus where inking jobs were almost none I decided to help creators in something else than inking, this is, lettering. I know several lettering tools in my previous 9-5 job so I think I could manage this as an B side of my craft. Still not a good or a great letterer, but I really think it’s a beautiful craft and rarely credited.

20140813_195637

I started lettering a soon-to-be a Kickstarter project named Alex: Enemy of Hell, where besides I suggested the main logo of the book. It was a 5 page pitch but then something happened that I really think is one of some Chilean artists worst attitudes: dropping a project because the sake of it. And this time it was huge, since the penciler was Marvel rated.

Creator Evan Clark was very disappointed and dropped the project.

20140813_202329

Months later I teamed up with Luis Inzunza for several pitch (Vigilance, Top Cow themed portfolio, Collateral Dee) and testing things and I thought that, besides the fact that his style is quite different than the previous Marvel guy’s style I decided to suggest him to Evan as a penciler and give it a try. Evan liked his work and now we are doing the first pages of the pitch.

… and the results looks amazing! Luis has it all: he has a clear vision of what the book should like and he talks with the inker and gives him suggestions and does not impose his view. Great guy to team up. This book will have a Tim Bradstreet, Michael Lark style, without feathering, dramatic spotted blacks, not line weight, very realistic.

Besides this: he is a neat colorist who also gives a taste of how the colors should look like.

10526065_273661136173367_7878635641957456514_n

I really think this could have a chance, so I’ll be keeping you posted.

It’s amazing how a comic book process project can become itself a documentary stock material.

bests

CDC

Tags: , , , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

