Thinking About Inking: the role of comic book inkers

I found this post from Benjamin Herman and I like to share it with you. It’s good to read articles about inking from another bloggers.
©http://benjaminherman.wordpress.com Dated March 27th 2013.

In My Not So Humble Opinion

As a long-time comic book reader, I have come to recognize that one of the most important aspects of the creation of comic artwork is inking.  It is also, unfortunately, one of the least understood.

Some people make the mistake of thinking that all inking is the same, that it is little more than going over the penciler’s work with a pen (I sometimes think that Kevin Smith should be dunked in a giant vat of India Ink for that line he wrote about “tracers” from his movie Chasing Amy).  But the reality is that no two inkers are the same.  The difference between one inker and another is often the difference between a very polished finish and a rough, gritty mood.  Therefore, it is important to recognize the vital role that inkers have in the crafting of the final, finished look of a comic book story.

I think…

View original post 1,199 more words

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

2 responses to “Thinking About Inking: the role of comic book inkers”

  1. In My Not So Humble Opinion: the Writings and Ramblings of Ben Herman says :

    I’m glad you enjoyed the piece I wrote on inking. Thank you for re-posting it. Best of luck to you in your own artistic endeavours.

Leave a Reply

