Contrasts

Today I have two great news:

Image

Emerald Star announces a switch in their plans: Startburn takes top priority in their production schedule. Issue one is done and we are about to start Issue 2. Still no publishing schedule, but I guess that you will see it before 2014 ends. Starburn will be a 4 issues limited series brought to you by:

Created & Written: Kelly Bender
Illustrations: Brian Balondo
Inks: Cristian Docolomansky
Colors: Laura Lee
Letters: Nic J. Shaw

– The other good news is something you already know, which is the first release signing of the El Viudo book, a chilean webcomic turned into a printed book. We will be at ComicCon chile this weekend, specifically Sun Jun 1st, at 3PM, at the main hall, ANG Stand. Here are the pictures taken from the printer and the mock up copy. ©Oscar Salas/ Dogitía

 

Created & Written: Gonzalo Oyanedel
Illustrations: Rodrigo Campos / Juan Marquez
Inks: Cristian Docolomansky
Letters: Maycols Alfaro

So, two good news, right? After 4 years in the making of El Viudo, the book sees print. And Starburn looks very professional. I am glad to see finished products finally. It is very important, even capital, event in my life to see my work packed, printed, something you can see, despite the fact it would show not my best work, or even worse, a drastic evolution from the first page to the last page. Even thou, I see myself finally making some step forward. 

The contrast is when I face reality. My only goal in this craft is to be the best at it and fight for a gig in one of the Big Two. I would also love working for Image, and it would be great trying Zenescope, Valiant, Aspen or BOOM! and many others. Facing reality means that this is a titanic endeavor, even harder when you have the chance to talk face to face with top creators here and there and almost all of them uses the very same painful 5 word sentence:

“Inking is a dying artform”. Actually that was the subject of my first in-depth post for this blog.

Today I heard that sentence, once again and it won’t be the last.

I don’t know how the other inkers uses to deal with this. But it somehow hurts, feeling that all that work, investment and pages. Oh, God. Lots of pages. Lots of inking tests. Lots of them. Lots of hours. LOTS

Hurts that some day, maybe soon I will have to call it quits. But I am no quitter. But I need to take this off my system.

Everytime I write here I want to show you my best work, my best effort and my professionalism and I always think that making public my supposed inner doubts or even spoke my fears out loud must not find its place in here. Today I want to tell you that despite working in this wonderful craft which I fear for the moment I see myself failing at my dream.

Today I was told “I know the feeling”. Then, the artist put his hand in my shoulder giving me the “I am currently there” look.

Maybe it weren’t the words he said to me that left me wondering about my situation. It was the gesture, the feeling of sharing that after all the glamour and Mad Men-era office stories, despite the tales of creators as mythologic as their creations, beneath all that, there’s some buried feeling that all creators – but the successful ones – fear that this train may be leaving the station.

I will keep running, I will endure my work, making tests, moving portfolios, spending less and less. I can’t miss this train.

So, after all, this day of good news actually turns into a day of contrasts.

Bests

CDC

Tags: , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

