Comics Economics: How To Earn A Living With A Comics Degree

Four days ago, while I was flying to Puerto Montt, a southern city in Chile for a 4 day off with my wife visiting the Island of Chiloé I read “Comics Economics: How To Earn A Living With A Comics Degree”, an article which was suggested by my friend and colorist Kóte Carvajal. It an interesting article that sums up everything you need to know in order to evaluate if jumping to professional comic books is your thing or not. 

The authors, MK Reed and Joe Flood sums in a very under stable manner every part of this process: Keeping your day job, basic economics, how to present yourself, pitching a book, how to measure your page rate, and many more. 

It’s very interesting and I felt two things while reading it: First, a small chill about the idea if I wasn’t ready enough last year when I dropped my job in order to be an inker and in a second order I felt relieved since I wasn’t doing many wrong things about this carreer. 

I strongly recommend this article to you, if you are just starting your career or having plans about it. 

Have a good read.

Note: “Comics Economics: How To Earn A Living With A Comics Degree” is an article © MkReed and Joe Flood. 

Bests

CDC

Tags: , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

