Things that keeps me moving forward 2: Once Upon a Time The Superheroes

Things that keeps me moving forward 2: Once Upon a Time The Superheroes

It’s not a surprise that I am aiming my inking efforts to the american market. Superhero genre and it’s actually what I have read since the day i was introduced to European graphic novels, Bandee Desineè and other kind of comics.

I discovered this documentary on Youtube while searching for good comic documentaries. It’s a

What I liked the most of this piece was that it felt new. I felt for the first time in like 15 years the same feeling of joy, adventure and happiness I felt when I was a kid, reading my favorite comic book and wait for the next month. Getting to know the sociological and economical environment of New York when the time of comics were born, explains all the genre with a new optic. At least for me. The poverty after the 1929 economical disaster, the need of values, the birth of a new kind of mythology and the fact that there wrier always drawing material with a message (social, country, goodness, family values, fight against all evil – embodied in 1940 nazism -, but mostly the quest of a true self) made me thinking that I connected more with the authors than actually the product

Making Superman a foreigner in a alien society, realizing that the fact of having sidekicks did not made teenagers rely on some characters up until Stan Lee, Jack Kirby,   Steve Ditko and all those Marvel Masters created as troubled characters with troubled lives, just as all those new teenagers were back in the day means that creating comics is more than punching bad guys. They are stories that could be your story.

That feeling of “those guys were geniuses” mixing a charmed city with realistic characters to make youth dream touches me and empowers me one more time to keep pursuing this dream of mine.

Once Upon a Time The Superheroes is 2002  documentary by Michel Viotte. You

Hope that you like it.

Bests

CDC

Tags: , , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

