Inking Marc Silvestri Phoenix – first attempt at MangaStudio

Hi There:

during all these years I have been a trust follower of traditional inking. Since last months my work schedule it has been increasingly grown I am currently looking for several ways to be able to focus myself in different jobs.

I have previously done several things using Photoshop, like the one you find on my previous post here, however, the finish line never liked me. Nevertheless, I wasn’t eager to start proving Mangastudio after being a Photoshopper for more than 10 years of experience as a Industrial Designer and Key Account Manager at an Industrial Design Studio.

i had to try it, and since I started it was easier than I expected. All Photoshop keys works here, so it was faster to start getting familiarized with the software.

Captura de pantalla 2014-01-04 13.22.49(2)

What i like the most was the brushes. Making my own brushes at Photoshop never made me completely satisfied, but here in MangaStudio, with an India Ink Brush, 5.0 or 10.0 and stabilization at its hugest value turned the stroke quite similar to the one I love using Hunt 102.

Captura de pantalla 2014-01-06 21.19.04(2)

So, Let me show you my first attempt inking using MangaStudio and I really liked it. I decided that I will use MS for all or most of the backend projects, so I won’t spend as usual on paper, brushes and inks.

MS is a great great discovery and the feeling that I jumped on it quite late on my career. Hope that you like it!

Image

Pencils by the glorious Marc Silvestri.

©Marvel

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

