Do the evolution.

These last three weeks have been quite interesting. As I told you on my previous post, I couldn’t wait to get to my desk to start working again.

I have been involved in two different lettering jobs (hey, I know, but I need to work professionally and get paid). In addition to that lettering is a very interesting job, that helps to understand the panel in some forms I couldn’t noticed as an inker. For instance: Lettering, putting words and balloons is a way to cover some of the art work, so, as a penciler or an inker there are several spots that you may think it’s not useful to waste detail on them if there will be later covered by a balloon, so that “time and space” can be focused on some other parts of the panel that requieres more detail.

mmm… there’s something I have started to discover… thinking in and out the panel… It’s a process that still can’t figure it out but it’s there, it’s something that I am sketching in my mind and I’m totally sure that’s because of the experience I have been gathering since March 2013.

Inking wise I have been dealing with several simultaneous jobs. One of them was finishing the scone 8-page story for the second issue of Trixie Dynamite. This work was approved by the editor and I feel it will look great printed. I am scheduled to work on issues 3 and 4. Let’s see what happens.

The other is Robin Hood. By the time I write this post I am about to face pages 10 and 11. This project I like to call it one of my “bridge projects”. I’d love to see it printed and I think there’s an evolution from the first page (which I used a Pentel Brushpen, that was not exactly what the penciller wanted) to the last page I’ve done, the 8. (J. Rivera inked page 9). I Started using the Hunt 102 quill. Hoewever, after NYCC I startes using this:

Kolinsky Raphael 8404 #1 Brush

Kolinsky Raphael 8404 #1 Brush

And IMHO, the change was substancial. Feathering started to align tighter in a perfect synchrony, modulated lines became really modulated, smooth and a total pleasure to the eyes. Besides that I started using a bowling glove to protect my hand and run smoothly throughout the page.

Here’s one of the results hi-res of the pages done using this new brush. Still lots to learn ahead (look at Thor’s Metal Plate chest), but I think there’s an improvement.

Image

Hope that you like it.

Bests

CDC

PS: Maybe someday I’ll post about the gamma of tools for inking. Any thoughts?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

