NYCC Trip – Review #1 from a foreigner point of view.

Image

On your left, that’s the United States, on your right, That’s New York.

Those words can’t be more true. Despite the fact I have not visited any other state, I couldn’t agree more. Those words were said by a NY Water Taxi tourist guide on the East River while looking at New Jersey.

It’s difficult to start talking about NY in just one post, so I’d make some of them. I have always thought that I’d make a good newyorker out of me. I live in constant rush, I work my ass off and I like all the tones and wide spectrums of people around me. However I never thought NY would be that much NY than I expected. Too NY for being NY, if you pardon my expression.

Image

Midtown Manhatttan looks like a boiling kettle about to explode. Young beautiful people – (where the hell are the mid 40’s to early in their 60’s people every morning? are they banned from the Financial District because of the age?)- walking fast if not running with a cellphone and a coffee on their hands struggling with patronizing looks towards their opponents, the slow-walking, trying-to-101-on-how-to-be-a-newyorker tourists in a symbiotic struggle without winner, since they need each other.

If you got the money, you are allowed to stay. This is a city that runs into individualism and radical Darwinism. First come – first serve; make a line out of your trip; run run run.

And there’s Sasha and Nino.

Sasha is a 25 year old girl who holds a cardboard sign asking for money every night on Broadway an the 50th. Dreadlocks, blue eyes and skinny. she really looks like Locke & Key character Kinsey Locke. Same skin tone and the same “I have lost all hope in myself” stare. Young artist and a beggar. California girl who can’t return home “Because there is no point to” and a adamant opinion about that anything won’t get better. She sits every night with her only friend, Nino, an innocent-looking pitbull dog (yeah i know that sounds weird) with a red bandana around his neck. The first time I saw the dog I connected him with my own dog, Facundo, who also wears a red bandana and it moved me. I used to talk a couple of words to her every night as I returned to my hotel and every night I walked off her with the same idea: in this city, near the brightest place on Earth, where people stands for unquestionable values, she remains unnoticed to everyone. She seems to be a part of the building she lays her back on, no one notices her, no one cares. If you are not able to run with the city, NYC will crush you with no pity.

Image

While I walk around this city I felt two things; I am spending way more of my savings that I am able to, and I need to stop this… and how’d be to break into comics in a Con that I define “a small NY, inside NY”. But that’s on the next post. Let’s keep it with the city.

NY has great places: The best museum ever imho, MoMa; (and I have been in quite a few out there); finding Deschamps’s ready mades; Rietveld’s Red and Blue; Van Gogh’s Starry Night, Dali’s Persistence of the Memory; Picasso’s Mademoiselles D’avignon; Mondrian’s compositions; Pollock, Warhol, Monet, Manet, Seurat, Mucha… man, there were enough time to enjoy and learn from those masters!

Image

Central Park was the easiest place on the entire city…a place where you can rest of the stress and the rush. Renting a bike, despite the long lines waiting for them it’s totally worth the trip.

Image

Several gargantuan bridges and two great buildings that shows the will of men painted on the most spectacular skyline you can imagine…

Image

…a place that brings remembrance and quiet contemplation even to the most untouchable person…

Image

… and many more. We spent those 8 days very well – according to our possibilities and our inner strength.

NY is a big place, somehow it’s a city that costs more than bills and focuses on showing themselves as a unique destination. Between a city kidnapped by tourists, struggled by young executives and a traffic that defies every understanding lays a city that captures the whole world in a very reduced space. NY may be a part of the US, but seems a country by itself.

Bests

CDC

Tags: , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

