My top three pencilers

I have recently spotted a set of three inkers that still are not breaking up in comics. Steadly, I mean, but are a great set of inkers. They are Devgear, Tony Kordos o Daniel Henriques. Still I’m miles behind them.

Here’s the thing: today, as a newly self taught inker I’m in what I can see it’s the lowest of the pyramid stage as an inker.

No, no, don’t get me wrong. The only way is up. I see this as a good thing.

Since march 18th I have been working unstoppedly between 5 USD up-to 30 USD digital and traditional inked pages, tests and several collaborations. Still no big publishers  knows me. So, I thought that it would be interesting to show the good pencilers I have found over the web on these months.

I have found good, average and bad pencilers. I had a couple of cases of pencilers that thought inking was to finish their rough sketch and then inking it. Then promising back end job which never turned into a serious offer. I won’t name names, because we all need to grow up in this business by learning. But I learnt that my hunger for knowledge, pages and experience must be measured with those pencillers which pencils would make a step forward on my portfolio.

On the middle section, well… there are several things to be paid and I think I must put into a balance. What to do if you are getting paid on a comic with a bad penciler? On this particular case, well, I accepted the job.

And, finally, the good guys. I am currently working with three different pencilers whose art still wonders me why aren’t on the mainstream pages.

Imagen

  • Erik Roman. He has a clearly distinctive penciling. Love for detail, noir comic, femme fatale and some Dave Stevens. He has a daily job and he delivers one strip page per week for the The Red Devil Webcomic. It’s a total pleasure to ink him. I think that my experience on chilean comic El Viudo helped me understand his penciling. He had unfortunately found bad inkers in the past – not that I say that I am a good inker, but we fit pretty well togheter.

Imagen

  • Diego Toro: He’s a friend and a great and dynamic penciler. He has an unique sensitivity towards facial expressions with a scent of Humberto Ramos. I have inked several works over his pencils. You can find him on his work on One Must Break for Beyond Reality Media Publishings. I am trying to fit my inks more properly over his pencils, but it’s a constant learning.

Imagen

  • Rodrigo Campos: I have long history with this guy and every time he’s getting better. I have done several things with him. First, the long awaited Age Of Oblivion Comic, for Bad Cog Publishings, a small indie publisher. Then we are in the making of the second issue of El Viudo, for Chilean publisher Futuro Esplendor. He is a diamond on the process of being polished. Loves high detail and high documentation standards, with a mixture of old classics, (Wally Wood, Joe Kubert) and mainstream stars such Jim Lee.

So, if you are a publisher interestes on my inks, well, take a look to these three talents and please, consider them (and me as an inker) for your next project.

Bests!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

