Who’s The Blame?

Imagen

Argument. A drawing I did back in 2006

I didn’t sleep good last night. I was haunting by bad dreams and I did not rest. For the first time in three months since I decided to try this obstacle-run as a comicbook inker I had to put in place many of my prejudices and yesterday I was involved into a nonsensical argument with an Art Director.

It surely doesn’t feel good, but afterwards I felt worse. However I may not have the most successful career in this country or a huge list of published books or whatever.

Before being an inker I was an event producer, Key Account Manager and Art Director with lots of projects per month, and lots of responsability. I learned leadership and I have always been told I was good at it. Never thought I was good. I only did my job. I know how the work must be done and how to deal with the information to do what the client expects to be done in order to get paid. Otherwise, it’s a useless time and efforts. I had a team who counted on my knowledge to get them their salary. For that I designed, I made enquires, I squeezed my scooter out looking for good prices, overlooked suppliers and delivering the goods by my own. I always did way more of what I was expected to do and that was a keymark under my run. We sold, we always left the client wanting more of our service and they always returned for more projects.

I am trying to adapt myself to this position, so after the argument I was involved with this guy made me feel out of the project. But even thou the conversation did not ended the way I meant, there’s always a lesson underneath. When I was Key Account Manager I tried to work under one rule:

Try to find every angle you could be screwed up with and fill it with knowledge.

Try to solve every problem you could have, and ask all the questions or you’ll be screwed up. Not in the way that people will screw you up. I mean the way the project won’t end the way it’s intended to. Cover all the angles and possibilities. That lead me to fulfill the bests projects the agency I worked for accomplished on my 5 year run.

I must keep doing that.

After rewriting this post four times, from angry to calmer down version I think that it’s fine an argument f you have the chance of learning something about it later.

So, I am sorry, for the bad moments we had over the argument. I guess I am gonna buy him a coffee and talk about it.

Bests

Tags: , , ,

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

Leave a Reply

