Is Inking a dying art? – My concerns about it.

Image

“Inking is a dying art.“

I can see it everywhere. From inkers to editors. All around. Everyone says the same. Inking is not a valid and affordable career anymore.

Reneé Wittstaetter couldn’t state it more clear. She told me that just a several days ago, on Santiago’s Comic Convention, FIC. And despite how much I can argue about it, she has the experience in the business to make me wonder about the fact.

Last month, just because a nervous breakdown I made a choice. I’ll end working for anybody else’s profit in a semi well paid job in order to take a full year hiatus on my Industrial Designer career just for the sake of persuing my dream of become a comicbook artist.

Inking.

Being an inker.

“inking is a dying art”.

 In Comicbooks, it’s a nearly extinguished art.

That sentence still wanders through my head like a hammer reminding me that this is gonna be harsh. Not easy. Plenty of poorly paid jobs and overnights without sleep. 

Inking is a dying art. I thought about it looking for reasons to back her comment up I asked myself if that’s because inkers let that happen. I think that we did not updated our resources.

Too bad. I’ve heard enough coments on professionals that claims that inking is old-fashioned job. I like ink, I feel in contact with my inner self when I ink, I think clearer inking, Our resources are two in a modern world of millions: Black and White.

And shape

And Light

And texture

And volume

I have several inking books among others. I’ve just ended Klaus Janson’s “The DC book of Inking” and somehow I felt un-encouraged. ¾ of the reference pages were great masterpieces released on the 60’s and 70’s and just a bunch of them were published after 2001. So, it made me feel if there is no young blood around. What’s inking TODAY? I think that’s the most important question to answer for us as a semi or professionals.

We can enjoy several actual inkers around: Joe Weems, Danny Miki, Mark Morales, Jonathan Glapion, Sandra Hope, Richard Friend, Scott Williams, Rachel Dodson, the great newcomer Daniel Henriques, and a bunch that makes me love more their inking rather than the actual pencilling they are working on.

I pay huge respect as a semi pro to the greatests of all-time to endure and create my own opinion. I can only fight back with my Hunt 102, my #1 Brush and my Artel penbrush despite the fact I’ll still being underpaid in a job that I love more than my life, but – according to the great wisdom of Reneé Wittstaetter – my fear is to be in love of a dying maid. 

This concerns me. I love inking. That’s why I left my job. Because I love inking.  

But I will succeed  in this endeavor. Believe me.

Tags:

About DOCINKS

Born in Barcelona, 1977, now I live in Chile. I'm currently working as a inker or letterer for several American, New Zealand or UK publishers like Beyond Reality Media, Alterna Comics, Advent Comics, Insane Comics, IDW Publishing, Ariete Producciones and Dogitia among others.

2 responses to “Is Inking a dying art? – My concerns about it.”

  1. poetoftheepiano says :

    I wouldn’t consider Inking a dying art. There are still men who make a living at swordsmithing and tailoring shoes. I do believe that with your passion, you will succeed in this endeavor.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Contrasts | docinks - May 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

